Reputation Observations from #MILOfest

Last week, I had the pleasure of attending MILOfest (Macs in Law Offices), which happened to be held at the Coronado Springs Resort in Disney World. We’ll ignore the fact that it was just as nice in Chicago as it was in Disney. That was offset by the fact that everything was green and lush in Disney while vegetation in Chicago has turned brown and dull.

The conference was pretty neat. Even a Mac user like myself learned a few things. I highly encourage you to go next year, regardless of whether or not you use a Mac. You probably use an iPhone or an iPad, and there was plenty of good information about using those in legal practices, too. And proof was presented that using Macs can save your firm, and tax payers if you work for government, money.

A couple things struck me this trip. The first is that my Twitter reputation precedes me. Three people immediately identified me by my Twitter handle, and two other people sat down by me at dinner Thursday just to check that it was me, and then ask questions about Twitter and how to use it. To be perfectly honest, I haven’t paid much attention to my Twitter use, other than noting, from time to time, the sheer volume of tweets I produce. People seem to think I have some kind of magic formula or some trick. I don’t. I just tweet stuff I find interesting, and make random observations I use to just think and never record. I got complimented on that, which was a new thing for me. I often wonder if I come across as well in person as well as I come across via Twitter, too.

The second thing that struck me was being associated with Clio. Now, granted, I registered for MILOfest before I came on board with Clio, and had completely different reasons for attending. It was a little bizarre as people who, at the time, only knew me via Twitter, seemed quite pleased to learn I am now with Clio. This is a new thing for me, too. Only one other time I have been associated with a company that has any sort of name recognition, and that was my very first job out of college with Evergreen. If you spent any time in the car, especially in Chicago, you’ve seen their containers being hauled around. They are green, and say EVERGREEN in white letters. I still feel a sense of pride when I see one of those containers go by. There’s a similar sense when people react positively when I say I work for Clio.

Two reputations. Both of them positive. Little weird for me, but also a bit surprising how well both seem to fit. And hey, #MILOfest has now been exposed to a wider audience than last year! I broke 40,000 tweets during the conference, and of course I surpassed my API limit and was locked out from tweeting about it. How’s that for irony?

Leave a Reply

