Taste of TechShow Thursday & Inaugural Blog Photo

There are many great things about TechShow, and one of them is called Taste of TechShow. Various dinners are set up around topics of interest, like social networking, eDiscovery, iPhone apps…you get the idea.

Last night, I attended Electronic Discovery and Privacy with hosts Paul Unger and Judge James Rosenbaum. We went to Opera, and I had the Kamakazi Burger:

It was awesome. One of the best burgers. Ever.

And what better photo to use for the inaugural photo on this blog!

Aside from the food, there was excellent conversation. I met some interesting people who have varied backgrounds. A few of them also work, or worked, for the military, something I found rather interesting. Never occurred to me members of the military would attend TechShow, but then again, it makes sense. I did see a couple of people from the Air Force walking around the Expo yesterday, talking to vendors. The military has a strong interest in technology. The government has a strong interest in technology. Why not come to TechShow?

Surprise. Surprise. I was the only non-lawyer at the dinner, but they were all intrigued by journalists learning to cover issues of national security, and agreed there is a pressing need for better coverage. Improved coverage, maybe. Something is lacking, and they’re interested in how it is going to be addressed, which surprised me. Past experience taught me people don’t like talking to the media, especially about prickly issues like national security.

I shouldn’t be surprised, though. At TechShow, people are incredibly friendly and open to discussion. I discovered that last year, and was encouraged and heartened by that. I made some awesome contacts last year, and now I’m going to go make some more.

Leave a Reply

