Shortcts.in More than Just a Dashboard Solution

Every Thursday, Jason Goodrich puts on an event called TechThursday at OfficePort. It’s a multifaceted opportunity that I have attended more than once. I admit to being decidedly bummed when I missed the previous week due to a significant technical glitch that required all hands on deck. Not to mention an academic technical glitch the previous day that required grading papers and exams by hand.

Alas, I digress.

TechThursday. Multifaceted opportunity. It’s a chance to network, of course, and to see a local person/group/company show off a new (and usually interesting) product, but it is also a chance to engage in self-reflection and take stock of your own situation, your own direction. I’ve found myself doing this quite a bit lately. For me, I think it takes a few months for things to kick around in my head and not panic. Not panic so much as question. I question. Often. And that can be both helpful and demoralizing.

Last Thursday, I attended a presentation from 4 guys, the “Dudes” (Jon Buda, Dave Giunta, Mike Laurence, and Matt Puchlerz), who showed off an app created during the SocialDevCamp Hack-a-thon. The app is called Shortcts.in which embodies, to some extent, and idea I have had of a central dashboard from which to navigate to the myriad of Web apps I use every day. But Shortcts is decidedly more focused and as they explained how they came up with the idea, I found myself enthralled.

I should note I played no part in this app what-so-ever. The app just reminded me of the central dashboard idea that keeps popping into my head (and I keep tweeting about).

The purpose of the site is to make it easy to find keyboard shortcuts for applications like FireFox, Photoshop and even BaseCamp. For the moment, it is Mac specific, which is cool. I’ve often gone trolling for something and found thousands of Windows options, and 0 Mac options. So it is refreshing to see a Web app created specifically geared toward the Mac.

Hearing them talk about the process was eye-opening, and I was somewhat surprised I could so easily identify. They pointed to the strict 24-hour deadline, more than once, as the real decision engine. Meaning they made decisions based on what they felt comfortable delivering at end the of the 24-hour hack-a-thon, and what they could push off for later. The result earned them the Design award at SocialDevCampChicago, and they have since continued working and refining the app.

Two things struck me about the presentation that made me erase…err…think about the myriad of questions of I have been asking myself lately.

The first thing was building an app for fun. An audience member asked about their monetary strategy, and they currently don’t have one. Why? Because the app wasn’t built with the intention of making money: it was built to solve a problem (improving on finding short cuts) and for fun. One of the members can never remember shortcuts, and all the sites that came up in results were pretty much useless. And the four of them had wanted to do something fun for awhile, the opportunity presented itself and they seized it.

Money is constant issue, which I certainly don’t have to say but did anyway. It has been a constant source of pressure for me since being laid off last April, and it’s hard to push it out or bury it for any length of time. But seeing the app in action, and hearing them talk, made me realize that I have been asking the wrong questions. And I have been asking the wrong questions because those are the only questions people ask. Part of this stems from my own internal struggle, too.

The second thing that struck me was the “false starts.” They’d tried a few projects together that didn’t pan out for one reason or another. It took a few tries, and one time-sensitive event to bring an idea to fruition. And bringing an idea to fruition is much harder than simply having an idea. I’ve discovered that the idea is the easy part, despite what people say. Shortcts.in wasn’t so much an idea, per say, as a solution. Remember, one of them could never remember some shortcuts, and found websites with shortcut lists rather useless. So why not create a better way to find shortcuts for themselves?

One thing I’ve found in my thought process is that I immediately seize on my lack of technical expertise. Technical expertise, I should say, in terms of programming. I know enough to be dangerous, but not enough to be deadly. And to make an application like Shortcts.in you need to be deadly. My lack of programming skills has been a source of frustration for me. It seems to inhibit my ability to do what I want, which is kind of ridiculous, if you think about. I have a broad skill set already. Do I really need to add programming to the mix and risk pigeon-holing myself? No. I’ve acquired such a broad skill set because I’m a curious individual, constantly searching for new things. That’s one of the reasons I read so much.

Anyway, it was enlightening to see a 4 guys each bring something different to the table. I found myself slightly envious, but also encouraged as I ponder my new venture. Being self-employed/entrepreneur, it’s easy to feel isolate, to think that you’re toiling by yourself and no one else understands. That’s only partly true. Friendships and partnerships aren’t formed overnight. It might take a few “false starts” to find the right combination or people, or the right project, and that is OK.

There is some truth that a person can only take so much rejection and negativity, but it is stories like Shortcts.in that can snap you out of that, even just for a moment.

I, for one, am a fan of Shortcts.in and look forward to the next TechThursday event at OfficePort.

2 Responses to Shortcts.in More than Just a Dashboard Solution

  1. Dave Giunta says:

    Hey Gwynne, thanks a lot for the write-up. Seeing the success of working on Shortcts has been kinda addicting. I was really glad to be able to share that with the Tech Thursdays group, but also a little nervous that it would fall on deaf ears, given that our process values something real and tangible over approval. Which is why I’m really glad to read that it made sense, and an impression on you.

    Your Dashboard idea is a good one… perhaps it’s worth exploring at the next hackathon with some more technical folks helping out?

    Good luck, and thanks again!

  2. Jon Buda says:

    Thanks for the great write-up Gwynne. Really happy to hear you how well you connected with our design process. Honestly, it was a rather eye-opening experience for all of us as well. We’re certainly proud of how well Shortcts came out in such a short period of time. Sometimes, it’s events like the Hackathon that provide a necessary kick-in-the-pants to get motivated and energized.

    As Dave suggested, I would definitely try to develop your Dashboard idea at an upcoming Hackathon.

    Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

