Member Spotlight in Total Balance Magazine Gives Pause for Reflection

Some exciting news to share: I’m in the Member Spotlight for the Nov/Dec 2009 issue of Total Balance Magazine!

I’m a fan of the piece, actually, and didn’t quite realize all the stuff I’ve been up to. The timing of the release is also a bit fortuitous. I was talking with Adrian Dayton after his Social Media Power Lunch, and he pointed out my rather varied yet unique skill set. The Total Balance Magazine highlights that quite well, but it also reminds me of the fun stuff, like hanging out with my nephews and running in the prairie. Things I do on a regular basis that sometimes get taken for granted. Maybe not taken for granted, but things I don’t always associate with work/life balance. They’ve become so incorporated into my life now that when I don’t see my nephews for awhile, life is not as much fun. And if I don’t go running for more than 3 days, I get kinda grouchy.

There have been days the past month where I feel like I haven’t accomplished anything. I started a company, but that’s it. Started. I created a social network for laid off lawyers, but that’s it. Created. So the piece also reminds me that I have actually accomplished something. A few things, really, and that without realizing it, I’ve done something about creating a life for myself.

That phrase didn’t quite sink in until I read it, and then remember the interview and all the awesome things that have happened this year. Considering I was laid off last year, and the complete lack of certainty I had at this time last year, I’ve done pretty well. I’ve been able to turn things around and find success in ways I hadn’t imagined. And that’s a good thing.

So thanks TotalPMA for reminding me of that.

Leave a Reply

