Open Source Primer Presentation

Update 10/15/2009 5:45pm: Adding sound, I agree, is a good idea. I’ll work on that. Let me know if the presentation seems to brief, if there are other things you’d like covered…seriously, any feedback is welcome. Posting in the comments is probably easiest, though you can certainly post feedback on Twitter (#osprimer) and my handle is @econwriter5

When I started this post, I started with the 4 “pieces” of open source:

  1. Computer Software
  2. Source Code
  3. Freely Available
  4. To Alter and Change

And then asked: what is “open source,” exactly?

I could go through a lengthy explanation, full of stuff you’ve probably read somewhere before but didn’t know it at the time. I very well might do that at some point, but it seems prudent to first present to you the Open Source Primer I walked members of the Chicago Bar Association Law Practice Management & Technology Group through. And yes, I am aware it is in PPT format and not ODP format. I actually created it in ODP, but liked the PPT template better.

Feel free to leave comments. First time I actually gave this presentation to an audience of lawyers, so feedback is welcome and encouraged.

Hopefully this works so here it goes…

Leave a Reply

