Total PMA Get-A-Life 30 Day Q and A

OK. A few of you have contacted me about TotalPMA’s Get-A-Life 30 Day live radio Q&A and said hey, isn’t that your idea?

The simple answer is yes, it is my idea. At the Get-A-Life Conference, I mentioned it casually to Adrian Dayton at the end of a sessions, who said it sounded like a great idea and started talking to other people about it, practically shoving me along the way to explain it more. I repeated my suggestion to Ed Scanlan before leaving for the Cubs Rooftop game, and he seemed receptive. Most people seemed receptive on the bus, too. And yes, I blogged about it too when I provided some feedback on the Get-A-Life Conference.

To be perfectly honest, however, I didn’t expect anything to happen until the second conference. Maybe. I’ve found that I tend to offer up ideas that are ahead of their time. I plant the seed, really, and I don’t perceive that as a bad thing. Indeed, it has proven beneficial. The seeds start to blossom and ask for some care and attention. Some of my law school classmates, and law school faculty, have contacted me about open source solutions, social media and how to incorporate things like wikis into the classroom. A couple professors from undergrad have asked about Twitter, and how they can use it to promote student work as well as the department.

So when I got an email information about a live Q&A 30 days after a conference, I was elated. An organization not only thinks my idea has merit, but also has decided to put it into action so quickly. Whether or not a 30-minute radio Q&A will do the trick, I don’t know. But that’s the cool thing about acting on an idea for the first time. You’re breaking new ground, and you don’t know what you’ll find under there.

I’m still curious how and/or if people were able to implement any of the “actionable” items, and if not, what kinds of road blocks or issues did they encounter? Such questions can apply to any conference, not just Get-A-Life. There is ABA TechShow, WordCamp, Search Engine Strategies, the Chicago eLearning Showcase

So it’ll be interesting to see what people have to say about GAL09. And perhaps this is a sign of things to come. Maybe other conferences will do something similar. Better yet, maybe conference wikis will become standard, and the conversation can take place during and after a conference. Now that would be a very useful knowledge base, don’t you think?

Oh, and if you are interested in tuning in, or want to participate, here is the info for the Get-A-Life Conference Q&A:

Date: Thursday, July 9th

When: 4:00 p.m. Central Daylight Saving Time

Where: Visit us @ www.TotalPMA.org for easy instructions to join the call. You can listen through your computer / laptop speakers or call the toll-free number (347) 857-1419 to participate.

2 Responses to Total PMA Get-A-Life 30 Day Q and A

  1. Nice article, as Stephen Fairley once said to me- “the fortune is in the follow up.”

  2. Ed Scanlan says:

    The 30 day follow up after the conference was 100% your idea.

    We have been working on ways to keep the Get a Life Conference (GAL09) dialog going until our next conference in 2010.

    Look out for some really interesting stuff involving all the presenters from GAL09 over the next several months.

    We really appreciate your feedback and input. The Practice Management Association is a collaborative endeavor and we promise to continue to listen and follow up.

Leave a Reply

