The Act of Writing (Tweeting) Each Day

I’ve seen some tweets referencing blog posts about writing lately, and have found myself managing three blogs: Summer Tour, Job Application Process and this one. You’d think that’d be more than enough for a person like myself who loves to write. It’s productive, in some sense, as there is something to show for it at the end. That is preferable, sometimes, to putting out bids for freelance jobs and resumes for full time positions that come up empty.

While reading In Pursuit of Silence, however, it dawned on me that my writing habits have changed. Perhaps evolve is a better word.

Last year, it was blogging for a personal injury law firm, writing lesson plans for class and instructions for two people I had to manage for a content migration project. The year before that it was policies and procedures before I got laid off, and grad school papers. This year, it has been two articles on open source applications for lawyers, drafts of short User Guides for online time tracking software, some blog posts on the various blogs I’ve created and tweets. Numerous tweets. I dare say that the vast majority of the writing this year has been 140 characters or less. My initial reaction is man, really? But there is something to be said for tweeting. Those tweets about whether Twitter makes you a better editor give me pause, as I often edit tweets to fit 140 characters or less so I can retweet it, and others can retweet, too.

Twitter, it seems, is a method I use to write each day. The act of writing each day can be challenging, especially when there are competing interests with chores, family and job hunting, whether looking for freelance or permanent employment. Writing can become just another thing to do, another thing that must be done. At this point, tweeting should seem that way, but it doesn’t. I thoroughly enjoy tweeting. It not only helps me write more clearly, in a sense, but it helps me formulate thoughts to communicate quickly. There is something to be said for getting your point across in 140 characters or less, and I like that.

Longer forms of writing, like blogging, articles, white papers and the like, provide the opportunity to expand on those thoughts. Sometimes people need a little bit more than 140 characters to fully grasp a concept. Sometimes I need more than 140 characters to fully explain a concept.

I tweet to write, and thoroughly enjoy both.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

